Uploaded image for project: 'Realtime WYSIWYG Editor'
  1. Realtime WYSIWYG Editor
  2. RTWYSIWYG-77

Realtime editing shreds articles during save if only a section of the page is edited

    Details

    • Type: Bug
    • Status: Closed
    • Priority: Critical
    • Resolution: Fixed
    • Affects Version/s: 1.27
    • Fix Version/s: 1.28
    • Labels:
      None
    • Difficulty:
      Unknown
    • Similar issues:

      Description

      I'm currently testing version 1.27 on XWiki 10.8.

      If I edit only a section of a page (eg. the main Sandbox page, but plain pages have the same issue) using the real time editor, even if I'm the only user, the editor will auto-save, and in the end, actually save, only the edited section of the page, discarding all other sections!

      The page can be recovered from the history of course, but in order to do that you first have to notice that something actually went wrong - if you're editing the very first or main section of a page or you're not that familiar with the page, you might not even notice, which can effectively lead to data loss.

      In most cases, this data loss seems to happen totally silently, without any indication that something went wrong.

      Obviously, this is pretty bad.

      Sometimes, when trying to save a conflict message is shown and the actual attempt to save triggers an Exception with stack trace message. I wasn't able to reliably reproduce this, though, and thus also currently cannot provide a copy-paste of the stacktrace or screen shots.

        Attachments

          Activity

            People

            • Assignee:
              Yann Flory Yann Flory
              Reporter:
              GOhrner Gunter Ohrner
            • Votes:
              0 Vote for this issue
              Watchers:
              4 Start watching this issue

              Dates

              • Created:
                Updated:
                Resolved:
                Date of First Response: