Uploaded image for project: 'XWiki Platform'
  1. XWiki Platform
  2. XWIKI-12705

Add an option to disable automatic silent merges when upgrading an extension

    Details

    • Type: New Feature
    • Status: Closed
    • Priority: Major
    • Resolution: Fixed
    • Affects Version/s: 7.1.2
    • Fix Version/s: 9.2-rc-1
    • Component/s: Extension
    • Labels:
      None
    • Difficulty:
      Unknown
    • Similar issues:

      Description

      Automatic silent merges are good for most of the users. There are some cases though when advanced users want to have 100% control over what happens during an upgrade. They want to be able to decide what happens on each merge conflict, even for those that can be resolved automatically.

      A use case is this: you have an extension X installed. You find a bug. You report the bug and provide a fix. You also patch your local extension. The issue is finally fixed by the extension owners but in a different way or in a different place (e.g. in a different wiki page). When you perform the upgrade you don't want to keep your local (temporary) fix. If you don't have the option to disable automatic silent merges then your local fix may be preserved, possibly conflicting with the upstream fix.

        Attachments

          Issue Links

            Activity

              People

              • Assignee:
                tmortagne Thomas Mortagne
                Reporter:
                mflorea Marius Dumitru Florea
              • Votes:
                0 Vote for this issue
                Watchers:
                3 Start watching this issue

                Dates

                • Created:
                  Updated:
                  Resolved:
                  Date of First Response: