Uploaded image for project: 'XWiki Platform'
  1. XWiki Platform
  2. XWIKI-6665

Saving edits after lock expiration doesn't warn the user that the page may be stale

    Details

    • Type: Bug
    • Status: Closed
    • Priority: Major
    • Resolution: Fixed
    • Affects Version/s: 2.7.1
    • Fix Version/s: 11.2-rc-1
    • Component/s: Old Core
    • Labels:
    • Environment:
      Solaris 5.11, Tomcat 6.18, Java 1.6.0_22
    • keywords:
      lock timeout edit merge
    • Difficulty:
      Unknown
    • Similar issues:

      Description

      This almost duplicates http://jira.xwiki.org/jira/browse/XWIKI-3585 (and thus http://jira.xwiki.org/jira/browse/XWIKI-175, I guess) but is slightly different.

      1) User1 edits a page, thus obtaining a lock, but does not save those edits
      2) Lock expires (30 minutes by default)
      3) User2 edits and saves the page. It is no longer locked by User1, so there is no warning/force editing option presented to User2.
      4) User1 decides to save edits. User2 is no longer editing, so there is no lock. Saving this 'not most recent' edited page over writes User2's changes.

      Depending on session timeout, User1 may be asked to login again, but there is no warning that the page has changed since he began editing.

      It would be nice if User1 were given a warning that the page has changed, and even nicer if a merge option was presented.

        Attachments

          Issue Links

            Activity

              People

              • Assignee:
                surli Simon Urli
                Reporter:
                cmp Chris Phelan
              • Votes:
                0 Vote for this issue
                Watchers:
                4 Start watching this issue

                Dates

                • Created:
                  Updated:
                  Resolved:
                  Date of First Response: